2013 Canadian Tire Schedule Announced

NASCAR announced today the 2013 schedule Canada’s premier racing series, the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1.

The schedule features 12 dates at 11 different tracks across five provinces. The slate includes tracks and events familiar to the series, but with a little different look for this edition.

“The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series features the top drivers in the country competing on Canada’s finest stock-car racing circuits,” said George Silbermann, NASCAR vice president, regional and touring series. “With a challenging mixture of ovals and road courses, and a new high-profile companion event at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, the 2013 calendar will continue to bring excitement to race fans from coast to coast.” The series will kick off the season on Victoria Day weekend (May 19) on the 2.459-mile, 10-turn road course at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park near Bowmanville, Ont.

It will make a return visit to the track’s road course on Labour Day weekend (Sept. 1) when the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series makes its Canadian debut at the historic venue, which has undergone extensive renovations that last two years under new ownership.

For the first time since the 2010 season, the Canadian Tire Series returns to the .4-mile oval at Autodrome St. Eustache (Quebec) on July 27.

The annual trek to the Nova Scotia’s Riverside International Speedway moves from mid-September to Aug. 17 and it follows the Aug. 11 date for the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres (Que.) – the always popular road-course event.

The annual swing through Western Canada includes stops at Motoplex Speedway in Vernon, B.C., and Auto Clearing Motor Speedway in Saskatoon, Sask., on July 13 and July 17, respectively.

The series will visit the challenging 2.113-mile airport road course of Mirabel, Quebec’s Circuit ICAR on July 7.

Exciting short-track races at Delaware (Ontario) Speedway on June 15, the Speedway at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park on June 22 and a Sept. 7 date at Barrie (Ontario) Speedway highlight the schedule, as well.

The season will draw to a close and a new champion will be crowned at Kawartha Speedway, the .375-mile oval near Peterborough, Ontario, on Sept. 21.