Thompson wins Delaware thriller

DELAWARE, Ont., Canada — Don Thomson Jr. held off Scott Steckly in a late-race dash to the checkered flag to win the Keystone Light 200 Saturday at Delaware Speedway.

It was Thomson’s seventh career NASCAR Canadian Tire Series win.

Thomson took the lead from Steckly on Lap 155. A spin by Kerry Micks on Lap 188 set up an eight-lap sprint, with Thompon holding on for his first victory since August, 2010.

DJ Kennington, who won the two previous races at Delaware, made a late pass of rookie Steven Matthews to take third. JR Fitzpatrick led a race-high 49 laps and rounded out the top five.

Micks held on for sixth, followed by Brad Graham, Jason Hathaway, Ron Beauchamp Jr., and Jason White. Peter Shepherd III won his first career Keystone Light Pole Award earlier in the day but ended up 17th after a mechanical issue.

The win allowed Thomson to close the points gap on first-place Steckly to 20 points. Fitzpatrick is third, 68 back of Steckly, and is followed by Kennington and Lapcevich.

The Keystone Light 200 will be telecast by TSN on Sunday, June 26 at 1 p.m. ET.

The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series takes next weekend off before heading to Mosport International Raceway on Sunday, June 26 to take on the 10-turn, 2.459-mile road course in the Vortex Brake Pads 200.