Thorn Awesome In Albuquerque

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Derek Thorn won the NAPA Auto Parts 150 in NASCAR K&N Pro Series West action on Saturday night at NAPA Speedway.

Thorn, out of Lakeport, Calif., started from the seventh position and charged to the front after Dylan Kwasniewski, who earned the pole position earlier in the day, set a blistering pace in the early going. Thorn, who collected his second win of the season, had built a more than seven-second lead on Lap 120, but had to hold off rookie Dallas Montes and Eric Holmes on a green-white-checkered finish after a late caution.

1 Derek Thorn
2 Dallas Montes
3 Eric Holmes
4 Taylor Cuzick
5 Austin Dyne

Montes, filling in for David Mayhew, who was competing in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in Las Vegas, held on for second while Holmes crossed the line in third. Rookies Taylor Cuzick and Austin Dyne completed the top five.

Hannah Newhouse in her series debut finished sixth followed by Braeden Havens, yet another series rookie. Points leader Greg Pursley, Kwasniewski and Carl Harr rounded out the top 10.

The NAPA Auto Parts 150 will air on SPEED on Oct. 11 at 3 p.m. ET.

The next event on the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West schedule is the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 at All American Speedway in Roseville, Calif., on Oct. 13.